This summer saw us take a vacation to the U.S. Originally I had the bright idea of driving to Florida….but after everyone finished laughing hysterically (I don’t like extreme heat) I got the picture and we settled on Cape Cod and NYC. My mother-in-law flew down to join us for the Cape Cod portion, having always wanted to visit there. For some reason, ha ha ha, we couldn’t coax her to drive down with us. I couldn’t convince hubby to let me fly down with her, either!

A shop in Provincetown

A shop in Provincetown

One of the first towns on the Cape we visited was Provincetown. This scenic town is located at the outer tip of the Cape. It does have a bit of a reputation and it would be wise to heed the warning ~ it is a gathering place for those who live an alternative life. By this I mean couples of the same gender. If you are a very conservative person, religious, etc, I strongly suggest you bypass this town and visit elsewhere instead.

That aside, it was a colourful town with beautiful shops everywhere. It was a grey day, spitting on and off, the day we went. It didn’t dampen our spirits however and certainly didn’t dull the colours of the buildings…or some of the people we encountered.

The pictures aren’t in order here but I’m having some sloooooooooow uploading and problems with the photos right now so in the interest of getting this out there, we’ll just see them whatever the order they went on this post.

Real.Live.Advertising

Real.Live.Advertising

This is an example of what you might find in Provincetown that the “straight” folk might not appreciate. This fellow caught our eyes – he would certainly catch anyone’s eye….and daughter took one of the pamphlet’s he was offering. I missed the entire message he was advertising at first and only understood it once Daughter corrected me. He was advertising for a show that was showing that evening…a live show…. um, er… entitled Willy Wanker and the Hershey Highway… we did NOT go to the show…

Cape Cod 135

 Here is a picture I looooove – daughter posing!  I don’t know the story behind the broken sign but it is perfect for Daughter who is involved in the theatre back home.  The sand was wet, it was drizzling but she brightens everything!

Next is another shop we passed. A lot of stores drew you in just by the decorating outside the store – the flagstone beneath your feet, the friendly porch and the warm, inviting light. Who wouldn’t want to peruse this bookstore?

A bookstore

A bookstore

Or how about this little green shop? How could a visitor pass this one up? That is Daughter and Nanna heading in ~ the light rain was a bit more persistent and a lot of the shoppers had left the area rather than get wet…or maybe it was getting close to suppertime?

A pretty green shop

A pretty green shop

Do you honestly think you could go by this adobe-style store and not even GLANCE at it? I wanted to take some of those little trees home with me but there is no way they would fit in the SUV or get across the border.
Nope. I even work for the Border Services Department and ….*sigh*… that doesn’t make me exempt from anything either.
I guess the alternative is to pack up and move somewhere warmer where I can grow plants like these and live in a different world….Cape Cod is pretty appealing too…hmmm…
Cape Cod 128
While walking through Provincetown your head will get sore, from swiveling back and forth so you don’t miss a thing! There are so many lovely shops hiding in the sides or backs, of other shops. By the time I spotted this one we were getting pretty tired so I didn’t walk down to get a closer look. Maybe one of you will do that honour sometime and show the rest of us what it looks like closer up?

A charming side shop

A charming side shop

Can you imagine how much fun it would be to see shops like these in YOUR hometown? My city does have its own brand of charm and it is picturesque as well. With these types of shops and homes, or hotels, you can almost feel the history come alive! Cape Cod 123
Provincetown is the first settled area on the Cape…the first adventurers got off at the first land they came to which was the end of the Cape. The industry back then was whaling and fishing and ~ oh yeah! This town is on the water, folks! I forgot to show you that, didn’t I? Oops…

Nanna and her toe-dipping into the Atlantic Ocean

Nanna and her toe-dipping into the Atlantic Ocean


Here, Nanna tests the waters and don’t kid yourself ~ it’s cold. This is the north side of the harbour; the boats were off to the left. An old, original (I think) jetty is still visible on the right there but it looks more dangerous than anything. On this side of the Cape (north) I didn’t see many people in the water swimming and after sticking my toes in, it’s no wonder!

Ever the adventurer, there’s daughter in the water again. She is our official tester of everything new – so long as it isn’t vegetables. She’s game for everything but the sight of a spud or pea can send her into hysterics. Not the good type, either.

Daughter in the water by Provincetown, Cape Cod

Daughter in the water by Provincetown, Cape Cod

Cape Cod 140
This is the monument in Provincetown. It has already been a couple of months since visitng the place and I can’t remember exactly what it is for…so forgive me if I’m a bit off here. I believe it is a remembrance to those first settlers to the area and a dedication to their spirit and way of life. It had to be tough back then; look how far they had to go to get to the mainland, even! This monument is visible to the whole area but the fog/mist descended off and on that day, rendering it invisible for parts of the day. It was humid and sticky with that drizzle and we were too tired to trek a few streets over to get a close up of it. I would like to go back sometime and if I do, I will definately make a point to get closer to this historic site.

Daughter makes any kind of trip of adventure such fun! She is so photogenic too and I can never resist taking pictures of her. As I suspected she IS part mermaid and here she demonstrates that persona for us. Now aren’t those watery colours perfect for her skin type??

Our personal mermaid!

Our personal mermaid!

I’m going to round off this post with a couple of cute pictures. I was delighted that Nanna had as much fun as we did and we LOVED having her with us. In this age of “I-don’t-want-my-picture-taken” (and I’m a guilty party to that, unfortunately) it is refreshing to have family who get a kick out of off-beat type pictures.

Nanna, Daughter and Cowboy friend

Nanna, Daughter and Cowboy friend


…oh, and by the way, Mr. Cowboy? We truly didn’t know we were supposed to drop a coin in your bag, there, until we were walking away! I guess your charming mustache swept us off our feet!

As a final photo from Provincetown, I thought it would special to show the “catch” of the day. Don’t worry though – it is a tin fake! If there truly was a lobster this size roaming the place, I, for one, would be NOWHERE near this town!

What a catch, ladies!

What a catch, ladies!

There was a shop close to this one where Daughter and I spotted the perfect momento for her. It was a wooden sign that just sums up everything I want for her:
“Well behaved women seldom make history”

…stay tuned…more beautiful Cape Cod locations being profiled in the near future…sooner if this damn thing would upload the photos properly!

