Bosco Jul 14 Bosco passed away last week at age 11.

It was with a heavy heart that I held him in my arms while the vet administered the medication to put Bosco into his forever sleep. At age 11, blind in one eye and at least partially deaf, the time that I dreaded finally came to pass.

For months now I was getting up once or twice a night to take the animals outside in a vain attempt to get Bosco to use the “outdoor” facilities. It never helped and after a few discussions over the months with my vet it became clear that my little buddy’s body functions were slowly starting to fail. The sort of happenstances whose frequency increases almost unnoticed at first and its impact not fully understood until it is over.

There was much tension and stress always worrying about Bosco’s constant accidents in the house and trying to head them off. The little chap peed on everything he could reach; carpets, curtains, backpacks, furniture, clothes and whatever else caught his fancy. Not even bedcovers, slippers, towels or anything else within 6″ of the floor was immune. Then there were poop gifts scattered throughout the house, sometimes blending in with the darker floors or other times creating a treasure hunt to track them down once that unmistakable odour wafted into our nostrils.

There were other signs of aging in addition to the spells when his entire back end would suddenly cripple him, sometimes for hours. The decision to euthanize an old family pet was one that pulled my heart and emotions for a very long time. Like every other pet owner, I dearly hoped he would fall asleep one day and pass away peacefully. It is so hard to feel like you are doing the right thing.

On the way home I believe my little friend smiled down on me when an unbidden thought popped into my head and stopped my tears of sadness. It was this saying:

“Don’t cry because it is over. Smile because it happened. ”

He was a happy goofball who loved us as much as we loved him. He was our lovable clown for 10 years.

Love you forever Tubs.

